android-x86 4.0 RC1 on the Eee 1015PX

hardware

Asus Eee PC 1015PX

external connectors

power
VGA
USB
SD card slot
headphone/mic combined
USB
USB
ethernet

internal

HDD 320G
WLAN
bluetooth: NO
GPS: NO
UMTS: NO

Some notes:

Power down: press Power twice

Or: Alt+Left for root shell. Then

sync
reboot -p

Windows key + letter
E: Email
P: music Player
A: cAlculator
S: SMS
L: caLendar
C: Contacts
B: Browser
M: Maps

keys in the browser
Ctrl+L: jump into URL line and mark current text
Ctrl+W: close current tab. Close browser when there is only 1 tab.
Ctrl+R: refresh page
Ctrl+F: find in page
Space: page down

And BTW: Alt+Tab also works.

German keyboard

german keyboard test in Notes app

New files:
/system/usr/idc/AT_Translated_Set_2_keyboard.idc
/system/usr/keychars/qwertz_de_DE.kcm
/system/usr/keylayout/qwertz_de_DE.kl

Files are available for download:
Download

Q&A

Can I boot from SD card?
Yes. Press ESC after powering on.
Tip: it helps to turn off “quiet boot” in the BIOS (F2 to get there).

Can I use multiple Android devices with a single Google account?
Yes.

Can I setup multiboot with android-x86?
Yes. The installer recognized my Win7 partition and asked if I want an entry for it in the GRUB boot menu.

Can I use an USB bluetooth dongle?
I have tried it with a Cambridge Silicon Radio dongle. Just plug it in, turn on bluetooth in the settings and I could transfer a file to my SGS.

Can I use an external VGA monitor or TV?
You need to disable the internal display by adding this to the kernel cmdline (in GRUB):

 video=LVDS-1:d video=1024x768

d – means “disable”.

my disk layout

Linux name file system size notes
/dev/sda1 NTFS 100G Win7 system
/dev/sda2 FAT32 16G hidden. System restore
/dev/sda3 NTFS 182G data
/dev/sda4 ? 15M EFI

I installed android-x86 to /dev/sda3 (Win D:) without reformatting.

8 thoughts on “android-x86 4.0 RC1 on the Eee 1015PX

  1. Heya Ran,

    Just wanted to say a big thank you for releasing eee-qwertz, i do own
    an ASUS 1215B and it works perfectly!

    But (there is always one), I’m from Switzerland, in the French part…
    So accents and special keys (@ etc…) are different, as you already
    know.

    So, my question is: do you plan top release a qwertz_fr_CH ? If that’s
    not the case, may I be of some assistance in the creation of that
    file?

    Have a very nice evening

    Cretch

  2. Thx. It works for my EeePc 100HG. Before i hat no @ Key…
    So a new Question. Do you know, how to add the internal UMTS Card of my Eee? I also cant put APNs into it. Thx.
    Best Regards

Leave a comment